• info@eventvibe.ly
  • Tripoli, Libya


The Community of Sahel–Saharan States (CEN-SAD) was established in 1998 when the founding agreement was signed in Tripoli, Libya. The original members included six countries – Libya, Chad, Niger, Sudan, Burkina Faso, and Mali.

The goal of CEN-SAD is to create a free trade area and promote economic integration within the Sahel and Saharan regions of Africa. Over time, membership has expanded, reaching 29 member states by the mid-2000s.

Throughout its history, CEN-SAD has faced challenges in fully realizing its economic integration goals. However, the organization has nonetheless provided a valuable framework for regional cooperation on shared development and security priorities in the Sahel-Saharan zone.

CEN-SAD continues to work towards its vision of greater economic prosperity and integration for the peoples of this vital African region.